Orange chiffon cake

I’ve always been a fan of Poh from the first series of MasterChef Australia. I think it’s because of her Malaysian origins. So when I stumbled across her orange chiffon cake recipe, I decided to give it a go.

It was so incredibly decadent yet oh-so-light at the very same time. Doing her three layer method was a bit tricky and time consuming but definitely worth doing at least once in my lifetime…!Image

The cake as is…Imageis completely amazing in it’s own right. And it seriously didn’t need all the garnishings though they only added to the cake’s preciousness…

It’s a three layer cake so the first step was to divvy it up into three as evenly as I could…ImageI’ve always wanted to get better at layer cakes so took out my Wilton Lazy Susan and gave it a whirl with my Wustof serrated knife. I seemed to do better than I had expected!

The next step was to coat the first layer with chantilly cream and roasted hazelnuts. I didn’t have any hazelnuts in my house and with my toddler fast asleep and his Daddy at work, I couldn’t run out to the local grocery store so ended up substituting with roasted almonds instead..Image

The second layer was a repeat of the first..Image

And when fully assembled, I gave a sigh of relief that my cake still resembled a cake…Image

Next came the ganache..Imagemessy Messy MESSY!! It definitely made me regret not having placed the cake on a cake board!!

Fortunately the layers that were accentuated with the glossy ganache were disguised somewhat by the roasted almonds on top…Image

And luckily for me.. with two massive spatulas.. I transferred it in one piece to the cake stand..Image{sigh of relief}

It certainly didn’t last long as I took some to Friday Night Dinner at my parents’ house and another lot to work where everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.ImagePerfect with a warm cup of tea!!

 

4 thoughts

What are your thoughts...