Pork & creamy mustard pasta – a 20-minute after work wonder

mustard pork & pasta 1280-18This is a recipe that I tend to make at least once a month.  It’s an adaptation from Nigella’s Nigella Express cookbook – namely her ‘Mustard Pork Chops’ recipe.  Because I’m a mother and sometimes don’t have time, I’ve got a decent selection of protein stored in my freezers – yes I’ve got two of them.  I tend to purchase the pork loin available at Costco every now and again, and freeze them in packs of 4 for family meals during the week.  Chops are apparently tastier but these are available in bulk at Costco and seem healthier because they’ve got minimal fat on them.

This recipe is great.  First of all, you get to de-stress at the end of the day by whacking the pork to your heart’s content (the more the better), then you get to cook lots of comforting carbs, after that, you get to roll the pasta (Nigella uses gnocchi which is great but more often than not I haven’t got any gnocchi in my larder) in a lusciously thick, creamy sauce.  And to make me feel like a good parent, I usually cook a veg to go with it.  Sauteeing or blanching some spinach is super easy and goes well with the dish.

I always cook the entire 500g bag of pasta – even though it’s way too much – because I don’t like to think too much about the little things at the end of the day, and if I cook half a bag, I usually end up losing the left overs at the back of the cupboard until it’s past its expiry date (I have a big – & possibly disorganised – pantry)!  In any case, my husband and I love eating the left over pasta for lunch (with or even without left over pork) because it’s ridiculously tasty.

Ingredients
4 pork loin fillets
salt, pepper
1 tbsp garlic-infused olive oil (Cobram makes a good one.  You can also make it yourself ahead of time or just chop up some garlic and pan-fry it until fragrant with your olive oil)
100 mL apple cider vinegar
3 tbsp wholegrain mustard
1 1/2 tbsp castor sugar
200 mL thickened cream
1 heaped tsp corn starch
Pasta or gnocchi

Directions
Put some baking paper or Glad wrap over the pork and tenderise it with a rolling pin or meat mallet.  Trim the excess fat off the pork and season with salt & pepper.  Pour the olive oil onto the seasoned side of the pork loin and then place, oil side down, onto a heated frying pan.  Season the other side of the pork loin and cook for about 5 minutes on the first side, before turning over and cooking the second side.

 

Meanwhile, get a pot of water on the boil and cook the pasta or gnocchi according to the packet’s directions.  Strain once the cooking time has elapsed.

 

Once the chops are done, place on a plate to rest.  Keep them warm in an oven (anywhere between 80ºC to 100°C).

 

Pour the apple cider vinegar into the saucepan to de-glaze it.  After a minute or two, add the mustard, sugar & cream.  Stir to combine and then add the corn flour mixed well in about 50mL of room temperature water.  Keep stirring the sauce until it has thickened sufficiently.

 

Stir through the strained pasta to coat & reheat and serve with the pork.

mustard pork & pasta 1280-19

And that’s it.  It’s super easy, really tasty – and most importantly.. quick.

What are your thoughts...